Help!! I know nothing about printing

I am an art designer/writer and have printed on Xerox 7700DN, small stuff.
My business is adding clientel to the point that I am now laying out a couple of magazines. I am designing and preparing for press magazines which are anywhere from 12 pages to 32 page books (8-1/2 x 11 pages). The number of copies for each book would be 5,000 to 40,000 at this point. I have many small orders also for menus, flyers, etc.
If I purchase a digital press (don't know which one) will it be cost effective? Where is the cut off point where it would need to go to web offset? I am going to buy a digital to enhance the small runs, but; if I can purchase something that can handle 30,000 copy runs (which will not be monthly at this point), and cost effective, then I will do it. The publisher wants to within a year print 1 magazine a week.
I don't want to throw away money.
Is there a small 4 color offset I can get (like a starter?)....

I would also need it to saddle stitch and fold...Need a finisher. Was looking at the Xerox DC 240, 250. There is also the Xerox 6060 and 2045/2060. I'm looking for Magazine quality and need a machine with at least at 1200 x 1200 dpi resolution. The Xerox 7700DN is 600 dpi and I definitely need better quality than that.
Please Any help would be great. I am getting more confused as the days go on.
I really need some solid advice on what to do. I would like to expand the business by offering small volume magazine/newsletter printing. But, if they can get it for cheaper outsourcing, then I don't know.

I have learned many different fields and know I will not have a problem dealing with the technical/service end of printing.

Like I said....HELP!
Any advice would be great!
Lisa