Xerox 700

jetblackmgx

Do you think it is reasonable to use a xerox 700 as your general workhorse machine to compete in the online printing marketplace? It just seems that the online print marketplace is so competitive, and the profit margins are razor thin.

We need a machine that has a tight registration, and the sales rep said a xerox 700 would be great for color copies, brochures, postcards, business cards, etc. Do you think it's realistic to run this machine to support a online print shop?

Sorry, I'm new to the print industry! Any help would be appreciated.

Re: Xerox 700

When you say workhorse, how much volume do you anticipate each month? Do you currently offer digital printing? Did your sale rep point out that the AMPV is only 20,000 to 75,000 impressions? Don't put too much credence in what any sales rep is saying, their job is to sell you something period. They will tell you what you want to hear, you need to read between the lines. I'm not saying they are misleading you, but some times they tend to gloss over certain things. Do a lot of research, talk to as many companies as you can and find out why their machines are the best. Go to Graph Expo if you can and see some of the stuff on the floor, kick the tires, take a USB drive with some PDF files on the and ask for prints so you can compare apples to apples from each machine.
These are not small investments by any means, take your time and be informed, go online and read as much as you can on a machine before you talk to the sales rep.

Good Luck

any Xerox machine can support a printing business, from the DocuColor 240, passing by the Xerox 700 up to the iGen4.

it's going to depend on 2 things (among many others) :

1. Print volume
2. How profitable your applications are

for instance, if you only plan to print only business cards, we know that profits are very low in that application, competition is fierce, so you need a lot of volume.